CTSI welcomes 2020 KL2 Scholars

Published by CTSI on June 8, 2020

Jiwoo Lee and Arianne BalderamoCTSI’s Research Education, Training, and Career Development Core (CTSI-Ed) is pleased to welcome two Scholars to the KL2 Scholars Career Development Program. 

New KL2 Scholars

Jiwoo Lee, PhD, RN, School of Nursing
Mentors: Jayne Fulkerson, Lisa Harnack, Weihua Guan
Project title: Reducing the summer health gap: Evaluation and enhancement of a community‐based child nutrition assistance program

Arianne Baldomero, MD, MS, Department of Medicine/ VA Health Care Systems
Mentors: Adams Dudley, Chris Wendt, Ken Kunisaki, David Nelson
Project title: Rural‐urban disparities in chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) among veterans

These Scholars join the continuing KL2 Scholars in the career development cohort:

Carolyn Bramante, Christen Ebens, Rene Pierpont, Armin Rashidiand Craig Schulz, and third-year K Prime Scholars Andrew Grande and Sandra Safo.

Features of the KL2 program include:

  • 75% salary support on salaries (up to $120,000 inclusive of fringe), $35,000 in research funds and $2,000 travel funds a year, for the first 3 years. This award is funded by the NIH CTSI grant for 24 months and the Medical School Dean’s Office for 12 months.

  • A focus on those applicants who are underrepresented in medicine

  • A multidisciplinary mentor team, including primary senior accomplished mentor, secondary mentor and biostatistician representing different areas of expertise

  • Weekly K Scholar Multidisciplinary Seminar Series with BIRCWH (Women’s Health K12), MN-LHS, CTSI Pre-K Discovery Scholars, and Individual K awardees

To learn more, contact Megan Larson, Senior Program Associate, at mclarson@umn.edu.



About our blog

The Clinical and Translational Science Institute's blog features news, events, and opportunities, as well as stories about the researchers we support.

Contact CTSI's communications team to share your research-related news.

Find all CTSI blog posts