Nominations accepted for CTSI’s annual research Mentor of the Year awards

Published by CTSI on July 5, 2017

CTSI is seeking nominations for its annual Mentor of the Year awards program that recognizes University of Minnesota research mentors, junior mentors, and biostatistician mentors of any current or past CTSI Research Education, Training, and Career Development (CTSI-ED) Scholar.

Former KL2 Scholar Tetyana Shippee and her mentor Robert Kane

Former KL2 Scholar Tetyana Shippee and her mentor Robert Kane

Scholars from CTSI-Ed’s six Scholar career development programs are welcome to submit nominations by Thursday, August 24 for the:

“These awards recognize outstanding research mentors who guide trainee's research, motivate and serve as a role model, promote research career development, and advocate for trainees, contributing to CTSI. Senior mentors also need to have a robust mentor training record and strong NIH biosketch” said David Ingbar, CTSI-Ed Director.

Nominations will be reviewed and awardees will be selected by a CTSI committee chaired by Drs. Esam El-Fakahany and Anne Marie Weber-Main, co-directors of CTSI’s mentoring program.

Award winners will be announced at the CTSI Annual Poster Session Sept. 20, 2017 at Campus Club in Coffman Union, and will receive discretionary funds (Mentor of the Year receives $1,500, all others receive $500) and a commemorative plaque.

Previous awardees include: Christine Wendt, MD; James Cloyd, III, PharmD; Kelvin Lim, MD; Carol Lange, PhD; Betsy Seaquist, MD; Lisa Coles, MS, PhD; Rebecca Shlafer, PhD, MPH; Alicia Allen, PhD; Kyle Rudser, PhD; and Lynn Eberly, PhD.

Submit primary and secondary nomination letters to CTSI-Ed by August 24

About our blog

The Clinical and Translational Science Institute's blog features news, events, and opportunities, as well as stories about the researchers we support.

Contact CTSI's communications team to share your research-related news.

Find all CTSI blog posts